Successful Nobel Prize Colloquium

On the 17th of December 2014, Montanuniversität held its eighth Nobel Prize Colloquium on Physics and Chemistry Prizes. The event was organised by the Institute of Physics and the Department of General, Analytical and Physical Chemistry.

v.l.n.r.: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Werner Sitte, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Klar, O.Univ.-Prof. Dr. Wolfhard Wegscheider, Prof. Dr. Henning Riechert, Ao.Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christian Teichert, Rektor Wilfried Eichlseder, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oskar Paris

The 2014 Nobel Prize in physics was awarded to three Japanese scientists for their development of blue light-emitting diodes (LED), an energy-efficient source of white-light. Prof. Dr. Henning Riechert, President of the Paul Drude Institute for solid-state physics in Berlin, was the scientist to develop the first LED in Europe (1996, Siemens AG). He held an exciting presentation on the current research situation and the large saving potential of LED- Technology.

The 2014 Nobel Prize for chemistry went to two US and one German researcher for their development of super-resolution fluorescence microscopy. Lecturer on this topic was Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Klar from the Institute of Physics at Johannes Kepler Universität Linz. He was involved in Stefan W. Hell’s work, the scientist who won the prize.

Further Information

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christian Teichert, Institute of Physics
Tel.: +43 3842 402-4663
E-Mail: teichert(at)unileoben.ac.at

O.Univ.-Prof. Dr. Wolfhard Wegscheider, Chair of General and Analytical Chemistry
Tel.: +43 3842 402-1201
E-Mail: allgchem(at)unileoben.ac.at