Scholarships and Awards

Various merit-based scholarships are offered to gifted students at Montanuniversität Leoben by its industrial partners and university sponsors:

Adolf Feizlmayr Scholarship

Adolf Feizlmayr founded this scholarship in order to support international students studying at Montanuniversität Leoben. The Scholarship is given once or twice a year via the university gazette. After discussing with a board of advisors, the rectorate decides on the size of the grant. Applications are to be handed in at the rectors office, according to the details given by the gazette.

Em.Hochschulprofessor Dr. Rudolf Posselt'sche Reisefonds [travel fund]

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Posselt gives the university a travel scholarship, known as the Posselt'sche Reisefond. The aim of this fund is to provide financial support to engineering and mining graduates who are Austrian citizens and have graduated from their standard course at Montanuniversität Leoben with distinction. The scholarship is to be used to support student trips as part of scientific training for research activities. The Chair of Industrial Logistics provides information regarding applications.

Exxon Mobil foreign exchange scholarship

The scholarships are aimed at students who not only achieve outstanding results, but are also considered to be good representatives of the university for a stay abroad. For more information, please contact Univ.-Prof. Dr. Herbert Hofstätter, Chair of Petroleum and Geothermal Energy Recovery.

Hans-Theisbacher foundation

This foundation was set up in remembrance of Hans Theisbacher, the former CEO and representative of Radex Austria in Australia, and the award is given to outstanding degree/Masters theses relating to fire-resistant materials by graduates who have completed their studies with particular distinction at Montanuniversität Leoben. The award is judged by a board of trustees and has been given annually since 1992/93. Applications are to be submitted to the Chair of Ceramics.

Hellmut-Longin award

The Hellmut-Longin award is intended to support outstanding scientific work in the mineralogy field. It is therefore given for outstanding dissertations and post-doctoral lecturing theses submitted to and/or worked on as part of the Chair of Ceramics at Montanuniversität Leoben. Applications are to be submitted to O.Univ.-Prof. Dr. Harald Harmuth in the Chair of Ceramics.

Huber+Suhner award

Huber+Suhner AG, Switzerland, gives the "Huber+Suhner Award" every year for outstanding Masters/degree theses on polymer engineering to students who are currently studying at Montanuniversität or have already graduated. An expert committee judges the award. The call for proposals is issued in December, with the last submission date being the end of the following February. The award has been given since 2000/2001. Applications are to be submitted in April each year to the Chairman of the Curriculum Commission for Polymer Engineering.

Vehicle industry anniversary scholarship

The anniversary scholarship was set up by the Austrian Vehicle Industry Association [Fachverband der Fahrzeugindustrie Österreichs] and is awarded to Mechanical Engineering students whose degree theses/dissertations have qualified a maximum of 3 years before the start of the submission deadline for the vehicle industry anniversary scholarship. See for guidelines.

Marshall Plan anniversary scholarship

The Marshall Plan Foundation awards scholarships to Montanuniversität students who want to go on a research exchange trip to a US partner university and to US visiting students at Montanuniversität. Priority is given to students in the final stage of their programme. Montanuniversität select the students.
They receive EUR 3,000 to EUR 10,000 for three to five months, depending on the duration and requirements of the study/research programme.

MIBA award

MIBA AG gives the "MIBA-PREIS" each year for outstanding Masters/degree theses and dissertations on theoretical, construction or empirical subjects relating to the MIBA Group: engine bearings, sintered components, friction materials (procedure improvements, new materials). An expert committee judges the award.

OMV Excellence Master Scholarship

The OMV scholarship for the MSc in Petroleum Engineering supports students by covering various tuition and living costs including a laptop, an exclusive internship and support from your OMV mentor - There is no obligation to pay back. More information:

Sandvik research award

The Sandvik Surface Mining Segment founded the award in 2006/07 on the occasion of its relocation to Leoben and gives a financial prize for outstanding degree/Masters theses or dissertations by Montanuniversität Leoben students/graduates. This scheme will run until 2016. Applications are to be submitted to the Chair of Conveying Technology and Design Methods by 31 October each year.