CEEPUS – Central European Exchange Program for University Studies

General Information

The CEEPUS - Central European Exchange Programme for University Studies is a multilateral exchange program with Central and Eastern Europe, which was initiated by Austria in 1995. It is a transnational Central European university network, which is composed of different individual subject-specific networks.

At present CEEPUS unites universities from 16 Central and Eastern European countries in the framework of networks consisting of at least three higher education institutions from at least two different contractual countries.

At present the following countries take part: Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Macedonia, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovak Republic, Slovenia. The Kosovo with the University of Prishtina, the University Prizren and University Peja is also eligible for participation.

The focus of the third generation of CEEPUS, CEEPUS III lies on Joint PhD Programs.


  • successful completion of 2 semesters as a regular student

  • no age limit

  • citizens of a CEEPUS country or of a EU/EEA country respectively (going to another CEEPUS country)


  • Co mprehensive grant scholarships based on local living costs covered by the host country

  • Monthly mobility allowance covered by funds of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy with respect to stays abroad exceeding 2 months

  • Travel grants funded by the Austrian Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy

Scholarship Rates – please click on the flags of the respective countries for further information

Application Process

Please contact the network coordinator and then apply online at: www.ceepus.info.

Application Deadlines

June 15, for the following academic year and winter term

October 31, for summer term

November 30, for Freemover Scholarships

Network with MUL Paricipation


Earth-Science Studies in Central and South-Eastern Europe

The network focuses on improving the quality in teaching geosciences in Central and SE Europe, as the main objective. Eighteen universities from ten countries (Austria, Albania, Czech Republic, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia and Slovakia) are involved in the project. The objective will be achieved by: a) diversifying teaching topics and methods, b) active collaboration among students and teachers and c) increasing the scientific quality of both, learning and teaching. The universities involved in the network are located within the large and complex Alpine-Carpathian-Balkan-Dinaride mountain belt which offers the possibility to study many geological aspects. The planned activities include regular mobilities and a short-term excursion (combined with summer school).

Contact MUL:
Ao.Univ.-Prof. Mag. et Dr.rer.nat.Hans-Jürgen Gawlick

Application for a CEEPUS mobility grant (students and lecturer mobility)

Students and lecturer mobility is realized within the framework of thematic networks.

Students: a minimum of 3 months and a maximum of 10 months. Attention: Shorter stays are only possible in the framework of diploma theses and dissertations.

Lecturers: 5 working days and at least 6 teaching hours at the host institution Within a network Austrian and foreign students are exempted from paying tuition fees and they will receive a comprehensive grant from the host country which depends on the living costs of the country.

Moreover Austrian outgoing CEEPUS scholarship recipients can apply for a mobility allowance, which is 200 Euros per month. After submission of the final report and the necessary proofs of the successful course of studies a travel costs subsidy (a lump sum) will also be paid.

Application als Freemover

In case there is no thematic network in the respective field of interest, there is the possibility of applying for a Freemover grant. The difference between network scholarships and Freemovers is that students have to take care of  all administrative matters regarding the recognition of credits, language requirements etc. by themselves. Priority of scholarship months will be given to Network Scholarships. The application criteria are the same for both kinds of mobility.

How to Apply

The application is online at:  www.ceepus.info

After nomination through the coordinator at your home institution your application will be forwarded to the National CEEPUS Office in Austria and from there forwarded to your respective host country’s National CEEPUS Office. Upon successful application you will receive an Award email with further instructions. Please follow the instructions closely.

Please note that for Freemover Applications students need to upload a Letter of Acceptance from the host institution (template in the CEEPUS database).

Please note that you should consult your "Studienprogrammsleiter" regarding your course load in your host country after having received the nomination from the partner country. Please note that you need to hand in a copy of your "Vorausanerkennungsbescheid" (officially signed and stamped at Studien- und Lehrgänge) at MIRO. Please note that there is no minimum credit requirement for CEEPUS scholarships at this point (Dec. 2015). CEEPUS scholarships might be used for academic research for thesis papers as well.

Please note that "Studienbeihilfenbezieher" must apply for the Auslandsstudienbeihilfe at the "Stipendienstelle".

Please note that application formalities at the host institution are the responsibility of the student.

Note: The award of scholarships may happen quite late, sometimes no earlier than 2 months before the beginning of the mobility period.