European Mining Course (EMC) – new triple degree MA study program of Montanuniversität Leoben, RWTH Aachen and Aalto University

Montanuniversität Leoben, Chair of Mining Engineering and Mineral Economics, has signed the contract for a new triple degree master study program with RWTH Aachen University, Institute of Mineral Resources Engineering, and Aalto University.

The European Mining Course (EMC) is an exchange master's degree program organized in international cooperation between three of Europe's leading mining universities: Montanuniversität Leoben (Austria), Aalto University (Finland) and RWTH Aachen University (Germany).

During the two-year EMC master's program, students study together at all the three universities, one semester (30 ECTS) at each. The final semester is reserved for the Master’s thesis, which can be completed at any of the three universities or in the industry, but under supervision of all the three universities.

The EMC covers every aspect of the life cycle of mineral resources. It is designed to provide a solid understanding of the global mining industry and takes a life-cycle approach by covering the entire mining value chain. It offers a state-of-the-art technical basis in resource modelling, mine design and economic evaluation. Technical knowledge is supplemented with topics on business economics, ethics, environmental engineering and a clearly defined and structured program for the management of health, safety and environment. Through guest lectures from industry, excursions and industrial projects, students gain direct insight into the international mining industry and make valuable contacts for their future careers.

EMC graduates are employed in industry, government organizations and research institutions. They hold key positions ranging from research, teaching and consultancy to management, design, project engineering and control. Their experience from working in an international group and environment make them attractive candidates for international companies around the world. The program has a strong support from industry and wide and active alumni network.

Detailed information about the EMC can be found at:

Program Director:

Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Nikolaus August Sifferlinger
Chair of Mining Engineering and Mineral Economics

Program Coordination:

Mag. (FH) Mag.phil. Birgit Knoll
Chair of Mining Engineering and Mineral Economics

The EMC Team (f.l.t.r.): Jakob Müller (Montanuniversität Leoben), Nikolaus Sifferlinger (Montanuniversität Leoben), Michael Tost (Montanuniversität Leoben), Birgit Knoll (Montanuniversität Leoben), Lauri Uotinen (Aalto University), Saara Sokolnicki (Aalto University), Bernd Lottermoser (RWTH Aachen), Aino Roms (Aalto University), Yannick Feldmann (RWTH Aachen), Mikael Rinne (Aalto University), John Vassen (FEMP)