University Management

The management bodies at Montanuniversität Leoben are as follows:

University council

The University Council of the University of Leoben, the "supervisory body" according to the University Act 2002, has five members.

The University of Leoben nominated Dipl.-Ing. Stefan PIERER and em. Univ.-Prof. Mag. DDr. Christiane SPIEL.

The Federal Government appointed Mr. Univ.- Prof.i.R. MMag. DDr. Günther LÖSCHNIGG and Mr. Dipl.-Ing. Georg FEITH, MBA,

These four members elected Univ.-Prof. Mag. DDr. Barbara SPORN as the fifth member of the University Council.

Dipl.-Ing. Stefan PIERER was elected as chairperson, and Univ.-Prof. Mag. DDr. Christiane SPIEL was elected as deputy chairperson.


The current term of office for the Montanuniversität Leoben Rectorate began on 1 October 2019 and will run until 30 September 2023.

Rector: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Wilfried Eichlseder

Vice-Rector for Finance and Infrastructure: Dr. Martha Mühlburger

Vice-Rector for International Relations: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Peter Moser

Contact: Office of the Rectorate, Ursula Papst-Morina, Telephone: +43 3842 402-7001, Email: ursula.papst-morina(at)


The Montanuniversität Leoben Senate consists of 26 members. Its current term of office began on 1 October 2019 and will run until 30 September 2022.

Chairman: Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Christian Mitterer

1st Vice-Chairman: Assoz.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Doris Groß

2nd Vice-Chairman: Robert Littringer

Contact: Office of the Senate, Doris Winter, Telephone: +43 3842 402-7015, Email: doris.winter(at)