14th International Metallography Conference in Leoben

The Department of Physical Metallurgy and Materials Testing (Montanuniversität Leoben) hosted the 14th International Metallography Conference 2014 from the 17th- 19th September

in cooperation with the Austrian Society for Metallurgy and Materials (ASMET), “Deutsche Gesellschaft für Materialkunde (DGM)”, “Stahlinstitut VDEh”, “Deutsche Keramische Gesellschaft (DKG)” and “Deutscher Verband für Materialforschung und -prüfung (DVM)”,


The conference focused on the metallographic progress of metallic, ceramic, polymeric and composite materials as well as coatings featuring the following topics:

    -Preparation methods for subsequent analysis using a light optical microscope as well as high-resolution techniques

   - Conventional microstructural characterisation

    -Material characterisation using high-resolution techniques

    -Quantitative image analysis

   - Tomography and three-dimensional evaluation and analysis methods

    -Microstructure and material properties

   - Phase transformations and precipitation processes

    -Microstructure analysis for the assessment of failure


Award for Em.O.Univ.-Prof. Dr. Franz Jeglitsch

In recognition for his exceptional performance and commitment in the field of metallography, Em.O.Univ.-Prof. Dr. Franz Jeglitsch was announced honorary chairman of the Committee of Materialography, during the opening ceremony. The Carinthian studied Metallurgy at Montanuniversität and took lead of the Department of Physical Metallurgy and Materials Testing as full professor in 1980, a position he held until his retirement in 2002. Between 1987 and 1991, Jeglitsch was Rector of Montanuniversität. His extensive research focused on high-temperature microscopy, potentiostatic etching, and visual contrasting methods.

Successful Congress

The team organising the congress was pleased to welcome nearly 400 participants from ten different nations. Numerous examples of the latest metallographic instruments had the chance to be displayed and introduced to the experts around the congress’ main programme.

During the opening ceremony, scientists were awarded for their outstanding achievements in the field of metallography. The Roland-Mitsche-Prize was given to Prof. Dr. Markus Rettenmayr from the Friedrich-Schiller Universität Jena, and the Bühler-Prize went to metallographers from Germany, Denmark and the USA.